Carrara Ghost town is a small ghost town and marble mine located about ten miles south of Beatty, NV on the east side of US 95.
First attempts to quarry the marble at the Carrara site were made in 1904, but these initial efforts failed with the inability to produce larger slabs from the highly fractured marble. In 1911, addition deposits were found more suitable, and the town was laid out in Carrara Canyon by the American Carrara Marble Company. Rails were already available and water was pumped in from Gold Center, NV. The town site was officially dedicated in 1913.
The town boast a newspaper appropriately named the Obelisk, a post office, hotel, store and restaurant to serve the 100 people who called the place home. In 1914, the rail road was completed, and soon large marble blocks were shipped down to Los Angeles, CA for finishing. The town and its people saw hardship and soon moved in in the 1920s.