Elko County

Elko County, Nevada
Elko County Nevada

Elko County, Nevada is located in the north east corner of the great state of Nevada and rich in history and landmarks. The county was formed in 1869 when the territory was spun off from the adjacent Landers County and named for the county seat of Elko. The county is the fourth-largest county by area in the contiguous United States. It is one of only ten counties in the United States with an area of more than 10,000 square miles of land.

Originally, the land was long inhabited by Native American tribes of the Plateau, including the Western Shoshone, Northern Paiute, and Bannock peoples. The tribes lives and livelihood were disrupted with the influx of the European-American settlers. The two cultures clashed and competed for resources, food and land.

The county saw an influx of people come from the east in waves. Fur Trappers first arrived in the area as early as 1826. Prospectors bound for California passed through the land in 1848 on emigrant caravans across the land to the Golden State.

Following the 1848 migration, Mormon Settles established homesteads and farms in the area starting in the 1860’s. Prospectors and miners arrived in the area about 1867. In 1868 the transcontinental Central Pacific Railroad was run through the land.

Elko County, Nevada is home to the Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest  and the Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge.

Elko County Ghost Towns

Dinner Station, Elko County, Nevada

Dinner Station Nevada

Dinner Station, Elko County, Nevada Dinner Station is a ghost town and stage station located in Elko County, Nevada. The station started with a wood…

Metropolis Nevada

Metropolis Nevada is a ghost town about 14 miles north west of Wells, Nevada and located in Elko County Nevada. The town was the brainchild…
Midas, 1908 - Stanley W. Parmer, Nevada Ghost Towns and Mining Camps, (1970), Howell North,

Midas Nevada

Midas is a populated location and gold mining town located in Elko County, Nevada. The town is located in a valley along the Midas Creek…