Esmeralda County

Esmeralda County 4×4 trails are in one of the first counties in Nevada when it was founded in 1861.  The country was named after Esmeralda the gypsy dancer from the Victor Hugo novel The Hunchback of Notre Dame by James Manning Cory, a California Miner from San Jose.  

The original jurisdiction was in the Nevada Territory south of the 39th parallel and Easy of Mason Valley.  The territory was nearly cut in half with the foundation of Nye County in February 1864. The later formation of Mineral County further decreased the size of Esmeralda County.

Aurora, Nevada as it existed in the 1800s was the Esmeralda County seat.
Aurora, Nevada as it existed in the 1800s was the Esmeralda County seat.

The original county seat Aurora, Nevada was maintained from 1861 to 1883. Oddly enough, Aurora was at one time the county seat for both Esmeralda County and Mono County in California at the same time.  Hawthorne, Nevada held the honor from 1883 to 1907.  The seat is currently held by Goldfield, Nevada.  Esmeralda county contains 3,589 square miles and 783 people as of the 2010 census.

Boundary Peak has an elevation of 13,147 feet and it located in the county.

Esmeralda Trail Map

[map style=”width: auto; height:600px; margin:20px 0px 20px 0px; border: 1px solid black;” maptype=”SATELLITE” kml=”” elevation=”no”]

Esmeralda County 4×4 Trails

Esmeralda County Ghost Towns

Esmeralda County Nevada

loading map - please wait...

Blair Nevada: 37.792200, -117.650000
Columbus Nevada: 38.110200, -118.019000

Esmeralda County Points of Interest

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.