Rhyolite Nevada – Nye County Ghost Town

Rhyolite is a ghost town location just outside of the Eastern edge of Death Valley National monument in Nye country, Nevada.  Founded in 1904 by Frank “Shorty” Harris when he discovered quartz with load of “Free Gold”, Rhyolite started as a gold mining camp in the surrounding Bullfrog mining district. As with many discovery’s during this time period, news quickly circulated and the Bullfrog mining district was formed.

Rhyolite, Nevada photo by James L Rathbun
Rhyolite, Nevada photo by James L Rathbun
Cook Bank Building, Rhyolite Nevada, Photo marked 1908 and "Courtesy of the Nevada Historical Society"
Cook Bank Building, Rhyolite Nevada, Photo marked 1908 and “Courtesy of the Nevada Historical Society”

Assays of $3000 per ton were reported by the mining press of the day, and the fall and winter saw many people converge on the area despite the weather conditions. Tonopah and Goldfield saw hundreds head south in the spring of 1905, and the migration caused “a string of dust a hundred miles long”.

It is an encouraging sign that the Ryolite Jail still stands. Also noteworthy, a brothel crib still stands as well.
It is an encouraging sign that the Ryolite Jail still stands. Also noteworthy, a brothel crib still stands as well.

The townsite of Rhyolite was found in a draw close to the most important mines in February, 1905. To start, the town was a mining camp with tents and canvas walled building. Fuel shortages caused the populous to burn sage brush and greasewood as fuel for their stoves to cook and keep warm. Food and fuel were teamed into the area on daily stages and water was bought over from Beatty for $5 per barrel.

A train caboose as found in Rhyolite, Nevada - Photo by James L Rathbun
A train caboose as found in Rhyolite, Nevada – Photo by James L Rathbun

However, as was common with gold rush towns, Rhyolite quickly developed all of the modern amenities of day, including newspapers, schools, hospitals and electrical power. Six thousand people called the town home in 1907. Luxuries unimaginable just two years before include, hotel rooms with private baths, and opera house, dozens of saloons, four banks, and a butcher shop were brought to the town by three different trains.

The mines of Rhyolite, Nevada operated from 1905 - 1911
The mines of Rhyolite, Nevada operated from 1905 – 1911

Decline and Abandonment

Rhyolite’s prosperity was short-lived. Several factors converged to precipitate its decline. The high-grade ore began to dwindle by 1908, and an independent study commissioned by investors in the Montgomery Shoshone Mine deemed it overvalued, causing stock values to plummet. The 1906 San Francisco earthquake diverted capital to California and disrupted rail service, while the financial panic of 1907 tightened funding for mine development. By 1909, the mine was operating at a loss, closing permanently in March 1911.

As mining activity waned, unemployed miners left for opportunities elsewhere. Businesses failed, and the population dropped to 675 by the 1910 census. All three banks closed that year, followed by the last newspaper in 1912, the post office in 1913, and the final train departure in 1914. In 1916, the Nevada-California Power Company cut electricity and removed its lines, leaving Rhyolite nearly abandoned. By 1920, only 14 residents remained, and the town was fully deserted by 1924 after its last resident’s death. Many buildings were dismantled for materials, relocated to nearby Beatty, or left to crumble in the desert.The San Francisco earthquake of 1906 and a financial panic of 1907 dried up capital investment which doomed the town along with many others in the region. Rhyolite ceased to be and closed in 1911.  

“The Last Supper” and other art pieces hold court just outside of Rhyolite

Current Status

Today, Rhyolite is a well-preserved ghost town managed by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) as the Rhyolite Historic Area. Its ruins, including the Cook Bank Building, train depot, and Tom Kelly’s Bottle House, attract visitors and photographers, earning it a reputation as one of the West’s most photographed ghost towns. The bottle house, restored by Paramount Pictures in 1925 for the film The Air Mail and later by locals, remains a standout feature. The nearby Goldwell Open Air Museum, established in 1984 by Belgian artist Albert Szukalski, adds an artistic dimension with sculptures like “The Last Supper,” a haunting plaster rendition of Leonardo da Vinci’s masterpiece.

Rhyolite has also appeared in films and literature, including a mention in Ian Fleming’s James Bond novel Diamonds Are Forever. While vandalism and graffiti have marred some structures, efforts to preserve its historical integrity continue. The site is accessible via a paved road off State Route 374, about 4 miles west of Beatty, offering free public access year-round.

Rhyolite is a wonderful place to visit when you are running Titus Canyon and Leadfield trail.

Geological Context

Rhyolite sits within the Bullfrog Hills, part of the southwestern Nevada volcanic field. The area’s geology features rhyolitic lava flows, formed 13.3 to 7.6 million years ago, overlying Paleozoic sedimentary rocks. These flows, fractured into fault blocks by tectonic activity, host the mineralized veins that spurred the gold rush. The town’s name reflects this geological heritage, derived from the light-colored, felsic volcanic rock dominant in the region.

Rhyolite Town Summary

NameRhyolite
LocationNye County
NewspaperRhyolite Herald May 25, 1905-Apr 26, 1907; Oct 11, 1907-June 22, 1912; Mar 1909 Special Ed
Rhyolite Daily Bulletin Sept 23, 1907 – May 31, 1909
Death Valley Prospector Nov – Dec 1907

Rhyolite Map

Rhyolite Points of Interest

Bullfrog Goldfield Railroad in Rhyolite

Bullfrog Goldfield Railroad

The Bullfrog and Goldfield Railroad, often referred to as the B&G Railroad, played a significant role in the late 19th and early 20th-century mining boom…
One of the few remaining structures in Bullfrog, Nevada - Photo by James L Rathbun

Bullfrog Nevada – Nye County Ghost Town

In the scorching summer of 1904, amid the rugged Bullfrog Hills at the northern edge of the Amargosa Desert in Nye County, Nevada, two prospectors…
Rhyolite, Nevada photo by James L Rathbun

Cook Bank Building

The Cook Bank Building is the most iconic image and popular images of the Rhyolite ghost town, in Nye County, Nevada. When John S. Cook…
Rhyolite Train Depot is located at the north end of town in Rhyolite, Nye County, Nevada. - Photo by James L Rathbun

Las Vegas and Tonopah Railroad

The Las Vegas and Tonopah Railroad was a standard gauge railroad which operated along 197 miles between the town of Las Vegas and Goldfield, NV.…
Overbury Building, Rhylote, Nevada. - Photograph by James L Rathbun

Overbury Building

The Overbury building is a general office building built by John Overbury, in Rhyolite, Nye County Nevada in 1906. The building was one of two…
Porter Brothers store front in Phyolite, Nevada - Photo by James L Rathbun

Porter Brothers Store

The Porter Brothers store is a ruined storefront on the main street in the ghost town of Rhyolite, Nye County, Nevada. The Porter Brothers were…
Rhyolite Train Depot is located at the north end of town in Rhyolite, Nye County, Nevada. - Photo by James L Rathbun

Rhyolite Train Depot

The town of Rhyolite boasted three train services using the Rhyolite Train Depot which is completed in June, 1908. The depot services the Las Vegas…

Rhyolite Newspapers

The Bullfrog Miner newspapers published in 1907

Bullfrog Miner

The Bullfrog Miner newspapers published in 1907 The Bullfrog Miner was a weekly newspaper that served the burgeoning mining communities of the Bullfrog Mining District…
One of the few remaining structures in Bullfrog, Nevada - Photo by James L Rathbun

Bullfrog Nevada – Nye County Ghost Town

In the scorching summer of 1904, amid the rugged Bullfrog Hills at the northern edge of the Amargosa Desert in Nye County, Nevada, two prospectors…

Death Valley Prospector

The Death Valley Prospector was a short-lived newspaper published in Rhyolite, Nevada, during the height of the Bullfrog Mining District’s gold rush in the early…

Rhyolite Daily Bulletin

The Rhyolite Daily Bulletin was a newspaper published in Rhyolite, Nevada, during the peak of the Bullfrog Mining District’s gold rush in the early 20th…

The Rhyolite Herald Newspaper

The Rhyolite Herald newspaper was a weekly publication that served as a vital chronicle of life in Rhyolite, Nevada, a booming gold rush town in…

Rhyolite Personalities

Frank "Shorty" Harris

Frank “Shorty” Harris

Frank Harris was a prospector, desert rat and perhaps the best known character in western mining history. He looked the part, often travelling the desert…
James Crysanthus Phelan

James Crysanthus Phelan – Rhyolite Shopkeeper

James Crysanthus Phelan James Crysanthus Phelan was a business man and early pioneer of the desert southwest, who like many others followed the boom towns…
John S Cook overseeing bars of gold bullion. Photo Goldfield Historical Society

John S Cook

John S Cook overseeing bars of gold bullion. Photo Goldfield Historical Society John S Cook is the founder and builder of the Cook Bank Building…
Walter Scott (1872 - 1954)

Walter Edward Perry Scott – “Death Valley Scotty”

Walter Edward Perry Scott  (September 20, 1872 – January 5, 1954), also known as "Death Valley Scotty", was a miner, prospector and conman who operated…

Further Reading

Nevada Ghost Towns and Mining Camps - By Stanley W. Paher

Nevada Ghost Towns and Mining Camps

Nevada Ghost Towns and Mining Camps - By Stanley W. Paher Nevada Ghost Towns and Mining Camps is a wonderful book written by Stanley W.…

Resources

Vernon Nevada  – Pershing County Ghost Town

Vernon, Nevada, is a classic example of a short-lived mining boomtown in the American West, now classified as a ghost town. Located in Pershing County (northwest of Lovelock, in the Seven Troughs mining district), it emerged during one of Nevada’s early 20th-century gold rushes.

Founding and Boom Period

Vernon was founded in 1905 following the discovery of gold in the Seven Troughs district that year. It served primarily as a support base and commercial hub for the nearby mines, rather than a direct mining center itself. The townsite plat was officially accepted on September 21, 1906 (initially under Humboldt County jurisdiction before Pershing County’s formation in 1919).

A post office opened on October 31, 1906, reflecting the town’s rapid growth. By mid-1907, Vernon competed with nearby Mazuma for the title of the largest settlement in the district. At its peak, the population reached around 300 to 600 residents. Contemporary newspaper accounts captured the excitement of the boom: in early 1907, the camp grew from a handful of tents and buildings to a bustling site with real estate offices, a livery stable, feed store, hospital, and even a short-lived mining stock exchange in September 1907. The Vernon Water, Light and Power Company also began operations that year to support the community.

The town benefited from rich gold ore discoveries in 1908, sustaining activity for a few more years. It formed part of a cluster of boomtowns in the district, including Seven Troughs itself and Mazuma.

Decline and Abandonment

The mines’ ore largely played out by around 1910, leading to reduced operations and closures. Vernon’s population dwindled quickly—dropping to about 300 by 1907 in some reports and further to around 50 by 1913. The post office closed on July 31, 1918, marking the effective end of the town as a viable community.

In the late 1920s, the area saw a brief revival effort with the establishment of Tunnel Camp (about two miles north) in 1927 by the Nevada State Mining Company. This company built a cyanide mill and dug a tunnel to access older mine shafts. Many of Vernon’s wooden buildings were relocated to Tunnel Camp, hastening Vernon’s final abandonment. The last residents departed shortly thereafter.

Remains and Legacy

Today, Vernon is a true ghost town with minimal remnants. The most notable surviving feature is the crumbling ruins of a two-cell jailhouse (reportedly damaged by vandals over the years), along with scattered debris and foundations. The site lies in a remote area accessible via dirt roads from near Lovelock.

Today

Vernon is now a true ghost town with minimal remnants. What remains includes the old jail (in deteriorating condition, with visible structural lean and collapse in parts) and scattered debris, foundations, and mining adits (horizontal mine entrances). Little else survives of the once-bustling camp.

The site lies in a remote area accessible via dirt roads from near Lovelock (roughly an hour away on maintained and then unmaintained roads). It attracts ghost town enthusiasts exploring the Seven Troughs district, where nearby Tunnel Camp offers better-preserved ruins, including a brick office, stamp mill remnants, and houses—some originally from Vernon.

Vernon’s story highlights Nevada’s recurring pattern of mining booms: rapid growth fueled by gold discoveries, followed by swift decline and reuse or abandonment of resources. It remains a quiet testament to the transient nature of early 20th-century mining communities in the Great Basin.

Dog Town, California

Dog Town holds a pivotal place in the history of California’s eastern Sierra Nevada as the site of the first major gold rush on the eastern slope of the mountains. Located in Mono County, near the modern Highway 395 (approximately 7 miles south of Bridgeport and close to the turnoff for the famous Bodie ghost town), Dog Town was a short-lived placer mining camp during the broader California Gold Rush era.

Founding and Early Development

The camp was established around 1857 by German prospector Carl (or Cord) Norst, who, along with his wife Mary (a Native American woman), set up a basic camp along what became known as Dog Town Creek (near the confluence with Virginia Creek). They built a dugout house with rock walls and began panning for placer gold—loose gold deposits in streambeds that could be extracted without deep mining.

Rumors of gold near Mono Lake spread quickly, drawing prospectors to the area. By 1859, a group of Mormon miners from Nevada arrived, staked claims, and helped establish a small mining camp and trading center. At its peak, the settlement reportedly housed around 100 miners, living in primitive huts, hovels, and dugouts—earning the name “Dog Town” from a miners’ slang term for rough, dog-like living conditions in makeshift camps.

This marked the beginning of organized gold prospecting on the eastern side of the Sierra Nevada, predating more famous boomtowns in the region.

Economic Role in the Area

Dog Town’s economy was almost entirely based on placer mining, with some later hydraulic methods mentioned in accounts. Miners panned and dug along the creeks, extracting gold from alluvial deposits. While never highly profitable overall, the camp produced notable finds, including reports of one of the largest gold nuggets discovered on the eastern Sierra slope.

Its production was modest compared to later strikes—exact figures are unknown, but combined with nearby areas like Monoville, several million dollars in gold may have been extracted from the broader region in the early years.

Dog Town played a crucial catalytic role in the regional economy:

  • It sparked the first significant influx of prospectors to the eastern Sierra, proving gold existed beyond the western slopes.
  • The initial rush drew attention eastward, leading miners to relocate quickly to richer discoveries.
  • In 1859, founder Norst (or others) found better deposits about 5-6 miles east, prompting most residents to abandon Dog Town for Monoville (overlooking Mono Lake), which briefly became a more substantial town and even a candidate for Mono County seat.
  • Subsequent richer strikes in Aurora (Nevada), Bodie (starting in the 1870s with massive gold and silver output), and Masonic built on the momentum Dog Town initiated.
  • The camp served as a primitive supply and trading hub in its brief heyday, supporting the flow of miners and goods into the isolated high-desert region.

Though Dog Town itself declined rapidly—abandoned within a couple of years as miners chased better prospects—it ignited the chain of discoveries that fueled the eastern Sierra’s mining economy for decades. Bodie, for example, grew into a major boomtown with up to 10,000 residents and tens of millions in gold/silver production by the 1880s, far outstripping Dog Town’s output but owing its origins indirectly to the earlier eastern slope rush.

Decline and Legacy

By the early 1860s, Dog Town was largely deserted, with residents moving to Monoville or other sites. There were minor reworkings of the diggings in the late 1870s–1880s during Bodie’s peak, but no sustained revival occurred. Today, only ruins remain—scattered remnants of rock walls and foundations near the creek, visible from Highway 395.

Designated California Historical Landmark No. 792 in 1964, the site is marked with plaques describing it as “the site of the first major gold rush to the eastern slope of California’s Sierra Nevada.” Ruins lie close to the cliff bordering Dog Town Creek.

In summary, while Dog Town was economically minor and fleeting, its role as the spark for the eastern Sierra gold rush was foundational. It drew prospectors across the mountains, set the stage for larger booms like Bodie, and contributed to the broader economic development of Mono County and the surrounding region during the late 1850s Gold Rush era.

Peg Legs Lost Gold

“Back in the 1960s. Desert Magazine published a letter by a person who claimed to have found Peg Legs Lost Gold or treasure in the Colorado Desert. Interesting, was the fact that the writer included some sample gold nuggets with his letters. The nuggets were coated with a black coating that seemed to match the original legend, Numerous letters were exchanged between the “finder”, the “doubters”, and “interested others”. Some even though is was a second mine owned by the Peralta Family with the Lost Dutchman in Arizona.”

A folder of Desert Magazine Articles about Peg Legs Lost Treasure given to me by my dad.
A folder of Desert Magazine Articles about Peg Legs Lost Treasure given to me by my dad.

This message was scribbled by my dad, on the outside of a manilla folder, which contained numerous articles from Desert Magazine on the Lost Treasure of Peg Leg Smith. At the time of Publication in 1965, my dad loved exploring the desert southwest in his International Scout, and like many others, collect magazine articles on places to explore. This is how I learned about the Lost Peg Leg Treasure.

Peg Leg Smith
(1801–1866)

Thomas L. Smith, widely known as “Peg Leg” Smith, was an American mountain man, trapper, explorer, and storyteller who became a legendary figure of the American West. Born in Crab Orchard, Kentucky, in 1801, Smith’s life was characterized by adventure, resilience, and a penchant for tall tales, which helped cement his place in frontier folklore.

Early Life and Career

Little is known about Smith’s early years, but by his late teens, he had ventured westward, drawn by the opportunities of the burgeoning fur trade. He joined trapping expeditions in the Rocky Mountains and quickly developed a reputation as a skilled trapper and resourceful frontiersman. However, his life took a dramatic turn when, during an expedition, he lost part of his leg in a skirmish with Native Americans or possibly from an infection after an accident (accounts vary). Undeterred, Smith fashioned a wooden prosthetic leg, earning him the nickname “Peg Leg.”

Gold and Storytelling

A Map of Henry E. W. Wilsons search area published in Desert Magazine
A Map of Henry E. W. Wilsons search area published in Desert Magazine

In the 1830s and 1840s, Smith shifted his focus from trapping to guiding and trading with Native American tribes. By the 1850s, he had gained notoriety for his tales of adventure and his claims of discovering a rich gold deposit in Southern California’s Colorado Desert. According to his story, Smith stumbled upon a series of gold-laden black rocks while traveling through the region. Unable to carry much, he filled his bandana with the gold nuggets which were laying on the ground. He marked the location mentally, intending to return later. Despite numerous attempts by others to find this so-called “Peg Leg Mine,” its exact location remains one of the enduring mysteries of the West.

Smith capitalized on his fame by entertaining travelers and settlers with his colorful storytelling, often exaggerating or inventing details to captivate his audience. He operated trading posts and was known for his charisma and humor, though some viewed him as a conman who exploited the gullibility of gold-seekers.

Later Years and Death

As the West grew more settled, Smith’s lifestyle became increasingly precarious. He spent his later years wandering between towns and trading posts, regaling listeners with his tales and living off their generosity. He died in 1866 near San Bernardino, California, reportedly from complications related to his leg or alcoholism.

Peg Leg Smith is remembered as a symbol of the adventurous and often eccentric spirit of the Old West. His name remains associated with the fabled Lost Peg Leg Mine, which continues to intrigue treasure hunters and historians. Annual events and gatherings, such as the Peg Leg Smith Liars’ Contest held in Borrego Springs, California, celebrate his legacy as one of the West’s most colorful characters.

Smith’s life, blending fact and fiction, captures the essence of a time when the American frontier was a land of boundless opportunity, danger, and mystery.

Desert Magazine March 1965

Peg Legs Lost Gold, Desert Magazine, March 1965
Peg Legs Lost Gold, Desert Magazine, March 1965

In March, 1965, Desert Magazine published a letter from one of their subscribers, who claimed to have found Peg Legs Lost Gold. To add some gravitas to the claim, the author included several gold nuggets tarnished with a dark desert varnish, which matches the claims for Peg Leg Smith from over one hundred and thirty years prior.

Dear Desert Editor:

Although the enclosed story has no byline, I believe it and the photographs will be of interest to you. After you have read the story, you will understand why the reasons for my remaining anonymous are too obvious to enumerate.

You have my full permission to publish the story and this letter if you wish. They may be of minor interest to the readers of Desert Magazine.

More important, I am also enclosing two of the Peg Leg’s nuggets. One is still black, exactly as found, and the other has had the black copper oxides removed by the process mentioned in the story and is now native “gold” in color. You will have these nuggets to show one and all who have doubted the story of Peg Leg’s black nuggets. You may keep them with my compliments for Desert Magazine’s collection of desert artifacts, in this case you can start a new collection of items from lost mines that have been found.

Very sincerely yours,

The Man Who Found
Peg Leg’s Black Gold

The author of the article mentions that he spent six days out at the site of the Lost Gold and removed about 720 ounces of nuggets. He claimed that all of the easy gold was removed by him and that he was sure other gold existed below the reach of his metal detectors.

For the next ten years articles and letters are published in Desert Magazine debating the claim along with reassertions of his claims.

No matter what your thoughts are on the story of Peg Legs Lost Treasure, it is without a doubt, that the lure of blacked gold nuggets just laying about on the desert floor near the Salton Sea is without doubt.

References

Millers Nevada

The Millers Nevada State Historic Marker 101 can be found at a rest area along Highway 6, situated a few miles to the west of Tonopah, within Esmeralda County, Nevada. Historically, Millers served as both a train station and a watering point for the Tonopah and Goldfield Railroad, playing a significant role in the region’s transportation network.

Millers Nevada about 1905 - Mrs. Harry Mighels Collection
Millers Nevada about 1905 – Mrs. Harry Mighels Collection

Following a mining boom in Tonopah in 1901 and construction of the Tonopah and Goldfield Railroad, Millers was first founded in 1904 as a station and watering stop.  The name honored Charles R. Miller, a director of the railroad and former governor of Delaware.  He also served as vice-president of the Tonopah Mining Company and instrumental in having its 100-stamp cyanide mill built here in 1906. 

Charles R. Miller - Millers Nevada State Historic Marker 101
Charles R. Miller

In 1901, a mining boom occurred in Tonopah, leading to the establishment of the Tonopah and Goldfield Railroad. This development set the stage for the founding of Millers in 1904, which began as a station and watering stop. The name “Millers” was chosen to honour Charles R. Miller, who was a director of the railroad and had previously served as the governor of Delaware. Additionally, he held the position of vice-president of the Tonopah Mining Company and played a crucial role in the construction of its 100-stamp cyanide mill, which was built in the area in 1906.

The year 1907 saw a significant boom for the town, attributed to the establishment of the Tonopah and Goldfield Railroad’s repair shops and another substantial mill. By 1910, the population of Millers had risen to 274, and the town featured a business district along with a post office. Despite its relatively small size, Millers was proud of its modest business district and claimed to have a large park that included a baseball diamond and a grandstand for spectators.

However, by 1911, the railroad shops and the mill relocated, marking the beginning of a decline for Millers. The town ultimately became abandoned in 1947 when the railroad ceased operations.

Nevada State Historic Marker Text

As a result of mining excitement at Tonopah in 1901 and subsequent construction of the Tonopah and Goldfield Railroad, Millers was first founded in 1904 as a station and watering stop on that line.  The name honored Charles R. Miller, a director of the railroad and former governor of Delaware.  He was also vice-president of the Tonopah Mining Company and was instrumental in having its 100-stamp cyanide mill built here in 1906.  In 1907, the town boomed with the construction of the T. & G. R.R.’s repair shops and another large mill.  The population grew to 274 in 1910, when the town boasted a business district and post office.  By 1911, the railroad shops and a mill had been moved away, and Millers began to decline.  It was abandoned in 1947 when the railroad went out of business.

STATE HISTORICAL MARKER No. 101
STATE HISTORIC PRESERVATION OFFICE
AMERICAN LEGION, NEVADA DEPT.

Town Summary

NameMillers
LocationEsmeralda County, Nevada
Nevada State Historic Marker101
Latitude, Longitude38.1402, -117.4539
Elevation4,800 Feet
GNIS856083
Population275
Post Office1906 –

References